Light of Stygia

13010727_10153664145137620_2238876114803422646_n
‘In the Light of the Stygia, a hero shall be born’

In Revolt of Islam (1817), Percy Bysshe Shelley writes; “fear not the future, weep not for the past” (Canto XI, st. 18).

A lot of people consider the future to be in 5, 10 or 50 years – but to me the future is next second, next minute, next hour. While I may know what I’ll do next second and next minute, I know too well that at least that minute can turn your life upside down. You don’t need 5, 10 or 50 years to suddenly find yourself on a completely different path than you were just a moment ago. And, to be fair, you don’t need 5, 10 or 50 years to make a change – changes can happen right here, right now, within the next couple of minutes or hours. Everything you do, no matter how small, will affect your distant future.

As for the interpretation of my future, I intend to reach for the moon – no, I’ll leap beyond the moon.

Anyone can reach for the moon. What’s the fun of doing like everyone else?

My contribution for the Weekly Photo Challenge – Future

Photo taken with Canon EOS 40D

Leave a Reply

