Day 1 – Year

“The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written”

Melody Beattie

 

I have since long lost that special feeling that kids have around new years eve – that whole dream of a new start, a new beginning, endless of options and possibilities. I can’t really put my finger on when I lost it, but somewhere on the road I came to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter if it’s a new year or not, things will remain the same. My problems won’t vanish just because the clock hits 00.00 at the end of the year. They’ll be there even afterwards, still hunting me, still pinning me down. A new year won’t solve my struggles and neither will a resolution, bravely spoken under the fireworks.

But even without that special feeling, I will spend this year too aiming to make my life a better life to live. And boy, there’s plenty to do..

 

Daily Prompt – Year

Leave a Reply

